Football teams announced

9 March 2017

The Azerbaijan Islamic Solidarity Games Organization Committee (AISGOC) revealed the eight teams that will compete in the football championship during the Baku 2017 IV Islamic Solidarity Games.

Besides the host nation of Azerbaijan, the national football teams of Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Cameroon, Morocco, Oman, Palestine and Algeria will also fight for the gold. Every team consists of athletes under 23, even though the rules allow for three members over 23 per team.

Teams will first compete in two groups. Every group will have four teams. The first two teams in each group will make it to the semi-finals. The tournament as a whole will consist of 16 matches. They will take place at "Bayil Arena", "Dalgha Arena", the Tofiq Bahramov Stadium and "AZAL Arena". 

The Sports Director Mark Honeybunn: "We planned the tournament consisting of 16 matches in a way that the teams would have enough time to prepare for the semi-final and final matches. We expect high demand for tickets. I am sure that Azeri football enthusiasts will support not only their home country's team, but also the guest teams."

The tickets for the football championship will go on sale on the 19th of March on the Baku 2017 website, as well as 12 different selling points around the city.

Official Partners
Official Supporters